Can I edit or delete my comment?

You can edit or delete any comments you have posted as long as you are logged in with the same account that you used to make the comment. The delete button uses a red X graphic in the site skin and some journal styles by default, and a text link in others. The edit button uses a yellow pencil icon in the site skin and some journal styles by default, and a text link in others.

If you posted the comment anonymously, or if you are not logged in, you won't be able to edit or delete the comment. If you comment to a restricted access entry on someone else's journal and they change your access so you can't view the entry any more, you won't be able to edit or delete your comments.

You can edit a comment when you are logged in with the same account that posted the comment, as long as the comment has not been replied to. Once a comment has been replied to, you can no longer edit it. Use the pencil edit button (or text edit link) on comments to edit them. Your edited comment will then show a message including the time when it was changed and the reason why you edited the comment, if you provided one.

Last Activity:
June 6th, 2012 (denise)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the Comments FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.