What is a memorial account? Why and how does an account gain this status?

If a Dreamwidth user passes away, their account can be placed into "memorial" status. This status prevents new entries from being posted, but allows comments on existing entries. Any friend of the deceased can request this status.

It is also possible to lock the journal, which also prevents new comments. This status can only be requested by a family member of the deceased.

To request that the account of a deceased user be placed in memorial status, open a Support Request under the Account Payments category with the username.

Last Activity:
August 30th, 2015 (kaberett)

Creative Commons License

Back to the Your Account FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.