What is comment screening?

Screening a comment hides it so only the person who posted the comment and the journal owner can view it. If you reply to a screened comment, the person you're replying to can see your reply. Screened comments are hidden from everyone else who views the entry.

Screened comments in the middle of threads will display as just a message saying "Screened comment"; this preserves the structure of the thread, but doesn't give any information about the author or content of the comment.

To screen a comment posted in your journal, use the screen light bulb button. To unscreen (reveal) a comment that has been screened, use the same button again, now labeled unscreen.

In a community, the person who posted the entry and the community administrators have the ability to screen comments. You can't screen comments you posted on someone else's journal; you can only delete your comments.

You can set up your journal to screen some or all comments when they are posted, meaning that they will not appear unless you decide to reveal them. Use the Privacy section on the My Account Settings page and choose the appropriate option for Comment Screening. You can set the same comment screening options for comments on individual entries using the Comment Screening option on the Post an Entry page.

Comment screening can be used to reduce spam. It won't prevent the spam comments from being made, but it will prevent anyone else from seeing them. This includes search engines. When the spammer realizes that their comments aren't showing up in search engines, they will likely reduce their spamming. There are other spam-fighting techniques in FAQ 92.

Last Activity:
December 6th, 2012 (zarhooie)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the Comment Security FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.