How do I delete my account?

You can delete your account on the the Account Status page. You can also use the Account Status page to delete a community you administer by using the "Work As" dropdown.

Deleting your account makes the entries you've posted, the comments on those entries, and your personal profile invisible to others. It does not delete entries you've posted to communities or comments you've posted in communities or in others' journals.

When you delete your account, you have the option to leave a message that will show to people who visit your deleted journal. You can use this to tell people where else to find you, explain why you're deleting your account, or just leave the field blank.

If you change your mind, you can use the same page to restore your account within 30 days of its deletion. You can undelete an account for at least 30 days after you delete it. After 30 days, the account may be entirely purged from our servers at any time. (We only purge accounts several times a year, because of the load it places on our servers to run the script.)

Last Activity:
March 7th, 2013 (denise)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the Your Account FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.