Can I have the username of an apparently-abandoned account?

Dreamwidth does not delete accounts for inactivity. Someone who looks like they're not using their account may actually be using it in ways that aren't immediately obvious, and someone who appears to have abandoned their account may return to the site at any time. Until and unless someone has chosen to delete their account, that account (and its username) belongs to the person who registered it for as long as they would like.

Trading or selling accounts or usernames is also against the Terms of Service, because a traded account can never be totally secure. The original owner of the account can always regain control of the account. For security purposes, do not accept a traded account, and do not offer to sell or trade an account you control.

Last Activity:
March 5th, 2012 (denise)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the Your Account FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.