How do I remove a user from my community?

To remove a member from your community and prevent them from being able to rejoin it, you will need to both remove and ban that user.

Removing a User from your Community



As the administrator of a community, you can remove a user from your community by clicking on the "Members" link associated with the community in question on the Manage Communities page, then locating the member in question and removing their membership status (along with any other privileges they may have in your community). Depending on your community's settings, however, this may not be sufficient to prevent the user from rejoining your community.

- If your community has open membership, the user will be able to rejoin your community. To prevent this, you will need to ban them before they rejoin; otherwise, you may have to remove them again.
- If, in addition, your community allows all members to have posting access, the user will regain posting access when they rejoin your community. To prevent this, you will need to ban them.

Banning a User from your Community



To ban a user from your community, go to the Ban and Unban Accounts page, select the community in question from the "Work As" dropdown, and hit "Switch." Enter the name of the user you would like to ban in the "Ban People" box, then scroll down and hit "Ban and Unban Accounts."

If you have previously banned people from your community, a list of those people will display under the "Unban People" header. Should you wish to unban any of these people from your community, you can select their name, then scroll down and hit "Ban and Unban Accounts."

Banning a member from your community will remove their ability to post comments or entries to your community. This will not remove their community membership, though, so they will still be able to see any members-only entries.

Banning a non-member from your community will prevent them from posting comments or entries to your community, and it will prevent them from being able to join your community.

It is also possible to ban a user from your community when deleting a comment from them in that community.

Last Activity:
March 7th, 2013 (denise)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the Managing Communities FAQ category.
Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.