FAQ - Organizing

» Can I delete all the entries in my journal?

Not automatically. You can delete all imported entries, but you can't automatically delete all the entries in your account. If you want to delete all the entries you posted to Dreamwidth itself (not just imported entries), but you don't want to delete your whole account, you'll need to delete each entry individually.

You can't delete all your entries automatically at once for security: if someone gains access to your account without your permission, they would be able to permanently destroy your entries very easily. It also prevents accidents.

If you have a paid account, you can use the Mass Privacy Edit tool to make all your entries private instead of deleting them.

Last Activity:
March 7th, 2013 (denise)

» Can I download my Dreamwidth journal?

Yes. You can download your Dreamwidth Journal month by month with the Export Journal tool. "Export Journal" will create a file containing only your entries but not the comments made to it. You can download your entries using either XML or CSV format.

CSV stands for "Comma Separated Values", which means your journal entries will be downloaded as a solid block of text with all hard returns replaced by commas. You may find the CSV format useful for some things, but it may not download the entire contents of your selected month.

If you use the CSV format, the Exporter will automatically ask if you want to save the file or open it with your system's text editor.

If you use the XML format, you will be able to download a month of your journal with some of the line-breaks preserved. The breaks between entries and your entry title will be preserved, but there won't be any line-breaks within the body of the text. Any HTML coding you've placed into your entry will appear as raw code, not formatted text.

To begin your export, fill out the information in the fields inside the shaded box on the "Export Journal" page. Select the format and encoding your export will use. Windows users can select "Western European (Windows)". Mac and Linux users can select "Western European (ISO)". If your journal contains non-Western-European characters, select the appropriate coding set to make it display properly.

In the "Fields" secton of the Exporter, you may choose what information from your journal to export by checking or unchecking boxes. YOU MUST SELECT "EVENT" FROM THIS LIST OR YOU WILL NOT DOWNLOAD ANY ENTRIES. When you've set up the Exporter to your satisfaction, press "Proceed".

If you've chosen CSV, you'll have the option to "Save" or to "Open" the file: if you choose "Open", your text editor will open the file in another window.

If you've chosen XML, your saved text will now appear as a web page in the same window or tab of your browser you opened the Exporter in. At the top of the page you'll see the words "This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below." in a grey box. This is a known bug: just ignore it.

Choose "Save Page As" from your browser menu. Doing this will save the file to your computer.

Go to the folder where your downloaded file is located. Select the filename and show file options.

You should now see a drop-down window with a variety of choices. Choose "Open With". There should be a submenu off "Open With" offering you a number of programs you can use to open the file. Your word processing program should be one of the choices displayed.

Once you have opened your document with your word processor, you can choose to save it as a text document instead of as an XML file. Save the file to your chosen directory in your chosen format, and you're done.

Last Activity:
March 7th, 2013 (denise)

» What are tags?

A tag is a keyword or phrase that you add to the entries you post to your journal or community to make it easy for you to find them again, or to help you place them into a specific category for organization purposes. You can enter your entry keywords in the box marked "Tags" at the bottom of your "Post an Entry" page. If you have already created some tags, your tag entry will offer you some auto-complete suggestions, but you can override them if you wish to use a different tag or create a new one. You can add tags to or remove tags from your entry at any time, and you can use multiple tags on an entry as long as you separate them with commas.

For consistency, tags are always changed into lowercase when you enter them. There's no way to make tags have uppercase letters.

Depending on which journal style you've chosen (not all styles support this feature), your complete collection of tags will display in the sidebar of your journal as either a list or a cloud. To view all of your visible tags, you can select "Tags" from the "Read" menu on any of the site-schemed pages. To edit or remove tags, you can go to Manage Tags from the "Organize" menu on any of the site-schemed pages. Here you may remove tags, rename tags, create new tags, and set the security level on your tags.

Community administrators may wish to change these settings so that all members of the community can add existing tags to community entries, or even so that all members can create new tags and add or remove tags from entries. For a personal journal, you may prefer to leave the security set so that only you can change or edit the tags on your journal.

When viewing a journal's tag pages, you can change the URL to show you entries tagged with multiple tags. For instance, to view any entry in your journal tagged with either "kittens" or "puppies", http://username.dreamwidth.org/tag/kittens,puppies?mode=or would be used. To view all entries in your journal tagged with both "kittens" and "puppies", http://username.dreamwidth.org/tag/kittens,puppies?mode=and would be used.

Last Activity:
March 8th, 2013 (denise)

» How can I merge two tags, or rename my tags?

If you've made a mistake with your tags, you can either merge two tags together, or rename an existing tag.

To merge tags, go to the Manage Tags page. Select the two tags you'd like to merge together. Then, under the "Tag Properties" section, enter the tag name you would like the combined tag to use, in the second box provided. For instance, if you have two tags, one named "cat" and the other named "cats", and you would like to merge them together into one tag named "cats", select both tags and type "cats" in the text box.

When you are ready, hit the "Merge selected tags" button. You will be prompted with a confirmation. Merging tags can't be undone, so be careful with your selections.

To rename a tag, select the tag and enter the name you'd like to change it to in the first box under the "Tag Properties" section. When you are ready, hit the "Rename" button. Renaming tags can't be undone, although you can rename a tag as many times as you'd like if you make a mistake.

For consistency, tags are always changed into lowercase when you enter them. There's no way to make tags have uppercase letters.

Last Activity:
March 8th, 2013 (denise)

» What are memories?

A "memory" is any entry on Dreamwidth that you save so that you can revisit it easily by returning to your Memories page. "Memories" should be one of the selections displayed as part of your journal style, along with "Recent Entries" "Archive" "Reading" (as in Reading Page) and "Tags". Depending on the journal style and the iconage supported, you should see either the "Add to Memories" icon: or a more general "Memories" icon: Choosing either icon should take you to your "Add Memorable Entry" page. There you can give this journal entry a description. If you enter a blank description the memory will be deleted. You can also enter up to five comma-separated keywords, or select keywords you've used in the past, so you can easily find this entry later.

The last thing you need to do before pressing the "Submit" button to add this memory to your collection is set its access level to decide who will be allowed to see it. You have the same control over your memoried entries as you do over your journal entries, so you can make your memoried entries public, available to your Access List, or something only you can see. You can set a higher security level for a memory than the original entry has (for example, you can make your memory of a Public entry Private so that only you can see it) but you can't set a lower one (if you set the security level of an Access List Only entry to Public, people will be able to see that you have the entry listed as a memory, but that won't change the fact that only people on that journal owner's Access List can read the entry).

Last Activity:
March 7th, 2013 (denise)


Creative Commons License
Licensing

Back to the full FAQ list.
Return to the Search Page.
Need more help? Go to the Support Area.