OpenID Profile

  • Grant Access
  • Subscribe
  • Track Account
  • Private Message
ext_45525: Gleeful Baby Riding A Bouncy Horse Toy (BouncyHorse)

thothmes.livejournal.com's Journal

Free Account

1,886 comments posted

0 Memories, 6 Icons

View extended profile

Name:thothmes
Birthdate:Apr 17
Website:http://thothmes.livejournal.com/
I am a stay at home mom with 4 kids, ages 24 to 6, 2 biological and 2 adopted from foster care. I teach swimming for a month in the summer, and have volunteered to teach French in our elementary school. My husband is primary care physician in a walk in clinic in a small Vermont town, and we live in a smaller one (pop. c. 925) and we live on a paved road with dairy farms right by us both up the road and down the road.

I majored in Classical and Near Eastern Archaology, with a view to becoming an Egyptologist, and when my husband got into Med School in a city that offered no grad school in Egyptology, I studied Classical Archaeology instead, but stopped 3 credits and a dissertation short of an MA.

A native English speaker (duh! I'm an American in WASP-y Vermont) I speak schoolgirl French and some German, and read Latin and Ancient Greek. I went to first grade in Athens Greece at Scholia Philtsou, a local private school, and attended two months of second grade in Palestine under Jordanian rule. My stepfather is Palestinian, so I retained at least some simple table Arabic, but alas, my Modern Greek has atrophied through disuse. For people who think that the above gives them some clue as to my political beliefs, unless you think it makes me a believer in co-existance, toleration,, co-operation, and live and let live, you are leaping to a concussion (sic).

I come from a family of foodies with an interest in all kinds of international cuisine, and in a perhaps related issue, I used to weigh about 90 lbs. more than I do now, until nearly 6 years ago I had a heart attack and was diagnosed as a diabetic, necessitating a lifestyle transplant. Now I run about 5 miles daily and most of what I eat would go happily into a bunny rabbit! But I am probably healthier, and certainly happier than I was when I was 15 years younger, so all's well that ends well.

Currently I am mostly a busy stay at home Mom (we pronounce that chauffeur here in rural Vermont), who has less time than she wants for reading (an addiction since childhood) and writing (a habit I inherited from my dad, a Creative Writing prof. and published writer). I won't be journalling all that much now, because of this, but I hope in time this will change. I am thothmes on lj. I like happy endings, and have my own with my husband, nicknamed Mr. Bear. (yeah - too cutesy, but we were young and in love, and what can I say. It was - and is - a great time!)
People [View Entries]
Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth:
Elsewhere: